Skip to content

Book Review: The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Fri, 10 Feb, 2012

The Color of Magic with Bonus Material: A Discworld NovelThe Color of Magic with Bonus Material: A Discworld Novel by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

OK, so, I read this book because I’ve heard, and read, a lot about how witty and satirical it is, and because is was offered for $0.99 on B&N for nook back in November. It is the first of several Discworld books written by Sir Terry. The series is regarded my many as one of the must read classics. I must say, I was a bit disappointed. It was clever in parts, but I never really laughed. The exploits of Twoflower and Rincewind plodded along with no real aim or purpose, other than Twoflower’s zeal to explore the world. They escape one threat after another by mere chance and dumb luck. But, considering the wager by Fate and The Lady, I guess that’s somewhat the point. In any case, I found myself reading the whole thing just to get through with it. Unless someone tells me the series gets better I will probably not bother to read the next one.

The bonus material mentioned in the title is a preview chapter for the 39th Discworld novel, Snuff.

View all my reviews

From → Book Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Vivito Volare permalink

    Personally. I find the Rincewind novels tedious compared to the rest of the series, But I came in with “Going Postal” and “Mort”

    I highly recommend to all potential Discworld readers this handy flowchart. http://www.lspace.org/books/reading-order-guides/the-discworld-reading-order-guide-20.jpg

    • Thank you for validating my opinion, Mr. Volare. That chart is cool. I may pick up one of the Discworld books again at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,033 other followers

