Knock Knox

This post innaugurates the C.A.V.E. Writing Category of this blog.   C.A.V.E. stands for Citizen Against Virtually Everything, or occasionally, Concerned About Virtually Everything.  There will probably be other expansions of the acronym that come to mind as well.  I first encountered the first one while talking with a local County Councilman (he was male so I can use Councilman).  He used the acronym to describe those people who seem to attend every Council meeting for the sole purpose of opposing any and all initiatives, proposals, measures, ordinances, etc. that come up for discussion.  I have, therefore, adopted it for use as my News and Politics of the Day category.  I thought it fitting, since most of what motivates me enough to write about are things I either find rediculous or strongly oppose.   Also, some of you may consider me barely more evolved than a Neanderthal for some of the views I will thus express.  I can live with that.  All I ask is that if you are moved to comment on what I have written, you do so in a civil and respectful manner.  I will do you the courtesy of responding in kind.

From the Things-I-Don’t-Care-About-But-Am-Forced-To-Pay-Attention-To Department we have one of the “big stories” of the week, Amanda Knox’s Aquittal.  Now, I’m not about to debate the merits of the case or whether the aquittal was justified.  I really don’t care.  What I am going to question is why in the world I should be expected to care in the first place.  I have never understood the fascination The Press has with murder trials.  I suppose there is a certain amount of natural drama to it all, but it just leaves me cold.  I didn’t know either the victim or the accused.  My life is not changed one iota by the verdict.  Maybe my empathic threshold is set too high.  The only possible reason I can fathom for the appeal of these stories is their entertainment value.  In this sense they appeal to the same aesthetic as the myriad so-called “procedural dramas”  i.e. CSI/NCIS/Law & Order and their multiple spin-offs.  Probably not surprisingly, I’m not much of a fan of these shows either.

One aspect of this news item I do find fascinating is the tone of the coverage.  In most of the reports I have either heard on the radio, seen on TV, or read (for the purposes of presenting an informed opinion for this post) they are all clamoring for interviews and all assume Ms. Knox will soon cut a book deal for a substantial sum.  Do we really need to be subjected to a ghost written account of this woman’s ordeal?  Is she to become yet another member of the phony celebrity club who are only famous for being famous?

Please understand, I harbor no ill will toward Ms. Knox.  I am sure her ordeal was quite traumatic for her.  I hope she is able to recover a semblance of normalcy eventually.  All I ask is that she do so in obscurity.

Keeper Of Obscure Knowledge, Designated Official Noetic Theorist, Professional Artificer of Noospheric Intermediary Constructs

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in C.A.V.E. Writing
6 comments on “Knock Knox
  1. JanCorey says:

    Good for Amanda, she just received an offer to do photos with no nudity, sounds much like the Hustler offer to Casey Anthony. Maybe Amanda and Casey can team up together to do a special on victims of the criminal justice systems.

    • tomwrussell says:

      Thank you, Jan, for taking the time to read my musings, and additionally for adding to the discussion.

      And so it begins, the shallow celebritization of Ms. Knox. I suppose she has every right to attempt to cash in on her 15 minutes. I, for one, will not be supporting her in this endeavor, however.

      • JanCorey says:

        I think you might change your mind Tim if you really understood the evidence that resulted in her initial conviction.

  2. JanCorey says:

    I am so sorry Tom, my error, I called you Tim, sorry.

Leave a Reply

