New Project

Holy cow! It’s been two years since I posted anything here.  I have so many books to review, so many views to express. Where to start?   Well I have decided, once again, to take a shot at NaNoWriMo this year. So, let’s start there.  My previous attempts were less than successful.  I started a half-baked idea, sketched out a general direction for the plot and dove in, trusting to the Muses to carry me along on a swelling wave of creativity. I would fall behind within the first week and never really get caught up. Then, I would simply give up half way through.  Those stories still want to be told,  I just don’t want to tell them right now.

This year I’m going to try something different.  This year I am going to take some time to establish the setting, characters, conflicts, and themes more concretely.  Which brings me back to this blog.  I have some preliminary ideas that I want to share with you dear readers.  There are some aspects of the setting for which I will need some input to keep things from getting too cliché or ordinary.

We will start with the general idea that got me started, the seed if you will.  From there we will build the setting, sketch out the primary and secondary characters and figure out the main plot points, though maybe not all of them.  I do want to give you a reason to read the finished product, after all.

Along the way, if I ask for advice, opinion or assistance, please, speak up.  I welcome your comments.   Likewise, if something strikes you as inconsistent, unreasonable or otherwise irksome, please don’t hesitate to point it out.   I don’t know it all, and the setting I have in mind will touch on many subjects on which I am not an expert by any stretch.  I am a big boy and can take a healthy amount of criticism.  All I ask is that we keep the discussion civil.

Shall we begin?

Keeper Of Obscure Knowledge, Designated Official Noetic Theorist, Professional Artificer of Noospheric Intermediary Constructs

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Wordsmithing

Leave a Reply

your humble host

things my twit says
NaNoWriMo 2015
