Simulation Lab

Sorry, folks.  There will be no Campaign Log post this week.  The onrush of Spring has caused my sinuses to mount a protest.  The worst should pass over the weekend, however, and I will be able to think clearly enough to continue regular posting next week.  Until then I want to share a crazy idea I’ve had and solicit your opinions.

There are a number of character optimization posts out there among the many D&D related blogs and forums.  Most of this advice is based on calculated values for damage potential based on average die rolls and assumed Ability and Feat selections.  What I propose is a little empirical experimentation.

You see, I was the type of kid who would play chess against myself just to puzzle out the strategy from both sides.  I would even, on occasion, play a solo game of Kingmaker where I would assume the roles of four or five factions in turns.  Does that make me weird? Perhaps.  But, it lends itself to this proposition.  How would it be if I drew up a party of 4 to 6 players, set in various encounters and ran them through, simulation style, to see how they fared?

My party might consist of a few of the pre-generated ones provided by the Wizards out West; or, I could create a party purely of “gish” types; Valor Bard, Eldritch Knight, Arcane Trickster, Blade Pact Warlock, and maybe Tempest Cleric.  Alternately, I could build a party entirely of one race or one class.  The purpose of these simulations would be to test the theory that certain class/race combinations are indeed optimal.  I would, of course, have to define what “optimal” means.

I am more or less convinced, at present, that it really doesn’t make much difference.  However, I suspect there are some combinations that are particularly potent and/or sub-par.  I suspect, for instance, that the half-orc barbarian could potentially outshine all other melee classes.  I, for one, would like to see some actual data to support the plethora of opinion and rules of thumb out there.

So, what do you, my dear readers, think of this idea.  Would this make for interesting reading?  Am I just re-inventing the wheel?  Was this already accomplished in the extended play test period?  If so, is that data available somewhere? Perhaps the Wizards out West have it stashed away somewhere.

Keeper Of Obscure Knowledge, Designated Official Noetic Theorist, Professional Artificer of Noospheric Intermediary Constructs

Tagged with:
Posted in D&D 5e

Leave a Reply

